Writing the Self 1:

It was More than a Hike

If I were to scream right now, would anyone hear me?  It was an odd thought that I already knew the answer to as there were 3 other adventurers with me.  Ok, if all four of us were to scream right now, would anyone hear us?  Although the thought was on my mind, I wasn’t sure that it even mattered; this thought was quite the contrast to one earlier in the day.

The air was fresh and pure with the wind blowing at a steady pace yet somehow not causing any bother at all.  The sky was a day time version of van Gogh’s, Starry Night, with picturesque clouds on a bright blue backdrop.  Some 2,500 meters up, I was standing even with those perfectly fluffy clouds and was grateful for the warm sun taking the edge off of the crisp draft which surrounded me.  Despite the fact that 4 of us were there, the silence was all-encompassing and completely fascinating.   

Breaking that silence, David yelled out “Come and get it, the tea is ready!”.  We all gathered around the tiny packable camp stove and held out our favourite mugs to be filled with that curiously hot liquid which was created so very high in the sky.  The first sip of that tea was so rewarding, as was the second and as was the third.  The journey to get to that point was lengthy, trying and definitely testing with much time spent wondering if it was worth it.  As I sipped that last bit of tea, I knew, the tears, the laughs, the sweat, the snow, the mud, the uneven terrain, it was all definitely worth it.  

Stuffing my cup back into the pack which seemed as if it was the same size as me, I decided to take a quick wonder, before descending back to reality.  Finding the perfect spot, I lied down on my belly to take a quick break.  At this moment I was staring off into the distance with my hands dangling over that fierce mountain edge.  There was a smile on my face that could not be taken from me with pride running freely through my veins.  My heart was glowing with love for this glorious land which commanded endless freedom in that still moment.   

I felt so alive.  This was the country that I grew up in, however, the terrain was much different than that flat prairie land I grew accustom to.  I felt so free.  This country has so many different landscapes which I’m allowed to explore without reserve of walls or boarders.  I felt so safe.  I was with an experienced group of individuals who were beyond prepared for this day. In that moment of complete clarity, I felt so Canadian.  I was beyond thankful for the infinite adventure and the breath taking landscapes that this country has to offer.

Snap!  It was the sound of my iPhone camera freezing myself into that perfect moment, a keepsake to hold forever as a reminder of all this day meant to me. 


2 Replies to “Writing the Self 1:”

  1. Very intriguing introduction, it definitely caught my attention and brought a feeling of panic from your aspect. The need to more is growing as I continue to read, wondering what needed to be heard if you were to all scream. The descriptive text helps myself visualize your surroundings and allows me to connect with the story and the emotions being expressed. This mountain sounds like it requires some practice to climb as the terrain is challenging. The idea of hanging off the mountain edge definitely brought some anxious feeling. The chance of falling or the surface collapsing would have been my most essential thoughts at that moment. I’ve only lived in the flat prairies and haven’t been able to travel to any mountains so reading this entire experience sounds adventurous and inviting. From the feeling I got at the beginning, it shows that your feeling of screaming was of joy not panic.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started